Current Issue

July 9, 2014

Vol. 114, No. 15

Alumni Connections

Alumni Nonprofit Directory

A listing of nonprofit groups that alumni have created or led

Posted on January 30, 2014


PAW hopes to make this directory as complete as possible. To add an organization to the list, please send an email to paw@princeton.edu

Organization: A-Team Tennis + Learning
Purpose:
To use high-quality tennis instruction to teach the game of life to youth who wouldn't ordinarily receive the opportunity.
Co-founder:
Kevin Dowdell ’83 (kdowdell@comcast.net)
Website: 
www.a-teamtennis.org

Organization: Alamaya, Association for the Advancement of the Ethiopian Family and Child in Israel
Purpose: To empower and develop leadership from within the Ethiopian community, involve members of the community in Israeli society, respond to the needs and aspirations of all age groups with an emphasis on values and heritage of the Ethiopian community, and nurture excellence in education, culture, arts, and sport.
Board member: Gerry Showstack ’70 (shows1@netvision.net.il)
Website:  www.almaya.co.il/en

Organization: American Dystonia Society Inc.
Purpose: To increase foundation funding for dystonia research; to be the compassionate foundation that will help less fortunate dystonians get treatment
Founder, CEO, and board chairman: Noel Valero '82 *86 s'85 (noel@valeros.org)
Websitewww.dystoniasociety.org

Organization: Ashraya Initiative for Children
Purpose: Operates a home for street kids and community outreach project in Pune, India
Co-founder and CFO: Julia Neubauer '07 (julia@ashrayainitiative.org)
Website: http://www.ashrayainitiative.org/

Organization: Baker Industries
Purpose: An outsourcing and product-fulfillment company based in Malvern, Pa., that hires those with disabilities, recovering substance abusers, individuals on parole, and homeless persons
President: John H. "Turk" Thacher Jr. '66 (turk@bakerindustries.org)
Website:  www.bakerindustries.org

Organization: Beacon Hill Friends House
Purpose: To provide Quaker education and residential community
Board chair: Margaret Benefiel '75 ( mbenefiel@executivesoul.com )
Websitewww.bhfh.org

Organization: BiNet USA
Purpose: A network of groups, projects, and individuals, encouraging dialogue and participation as a way of creating and maintaining a cohesive bisexual community and empowering individuals to feel proud of their bisexuality
Former president; advisory board member: Barry Saiff '83 (magicbarry@aol.com)
Website: www.binetusa.org

Organization: Children’s Scholarship Fund
Purpose: The Children’s Scholarship Fund aims to maximize educational opportunity for all children: for those in need by offering tuition assistance in grades K-8 for alternatives to faltering conventional schools, and for all children by supporting and cultivating education reform and parental choice efforts.
Chief development officer: Margot Pfohl ’01
Website: http://www.scholarshipfund.org/

Organization: Chugachmiut Inc.
Purpose: A consortium of seven Alaska Native tribes that promotes self-determination and provides  services in the areas of health care, social services, enterprise development, language and culture, and public safety
Executive director: Patrick M. Anderson '75 (patrick@chugachmiut.org)
Website: www.chugachmiut.org

Organization: Community Foundation of Greater Memphis
Purpose: Strengthening the community through philanthropy; managing assets of more than $260 million; examining, advocating, and convening conversations about community issues
President: Bob Fockler '81 (rfockler@comcast.net)
Website:  www.cfgm.org

Organization: The Corner Project
Purpose: Educational and economic development in the highlands southwest of Mexico City
Project coordinator: Ellen Calmus *86 (ecalmus@elrincon.org)
Website: www.elrincon.org

Organization: Cruz Blanca Initiative
Purpose: Engage Princeton students in projects that help underprivileged Mexican communities
Founders: Sheila Parmar '01 smparmar2001@yahoo.com and Kush Parmar '02 kmparmar@alumni.princeton.edu

Organization: Education Through Music
Purpose: Working with inner-city schools lacking sufficient funds for schoolwide music programs to ensure that all students (including special-needs children) receives weekly music instruction to enrich their academic and personal growth
Founder and board member: Eldon Mayer '57
Staff members: Rainah Berlowitz '97, director of operations; Katherine Canning '97, director of development and program evaluation; Julie Rubinger '09 and Dominique Salerno '10, development associates
Website:  www.etmonline.org

Organization:  The Food Justice Foundation
Purpose:  Provide solution to food access inequity and combat childhood obesity in underserved communities by operating Healthy Food Fundraisers in city schools.  Currently operating in Trenton.
Co-founders: Executive Director  Taylor Behmke '12 (taylor@foodjusticefoundation.org), President of the Board Kelly Reilly '12 (kelly@foodjusticefoundation.org), Tucker Willsie '11 (tucker@foodjusticefoundation.org), Tushar Gupta '11  (tushar@foodjusticefoundation.org), Stephen Segura '11 (ssegura00@gmail.com), Board Member Jay M Behmke '77 (jmbehmke@gmail.com), Advisory Board Member Heather Butts '94
Website: www.foodjusticefoundation.org/

Organization: Hockey Players for Kids
Purpose: Professional hockey players helping children in communities across North America
Co-founders: Dustin Sproat '06 (Dustin.Sproat@hp4k.org), Mike Moore '08 (mkmoore84@gmail.com) , Daryl Marcoux '07 (marcouxdaryl@gmail.com) , Brett Westgarth '07 (brett.westgarth@gmail.com) , Darroll Powe '07 (darrollpowe@gmail.com)
Website: http://hp4k.org

Organization: Homes with Hope
Purpose: Assisting the homeless and those at risk of homelessness in Westport, Weston, and Wilton, Conn.
President and CEO: Jeff Wieser '74 (jwieser@homeswithhopect.org)
Website: www.hwhct.org

Organization: José Mateo Ballet Theatre
Purpose: To provide innovative programming, artistic excellence, and extensive community outreach. It is the only ballet company in New England to produce an entire repertory by its own resident choreographer
Founder and artistic director: José Mateo '74
Website: www.ballettheatre.org

Organization: Melanoma Research Alliance
Purpose: Finding and funding the most promising melanoma research worldwide
President and CEO: Wendy Donath Selig '86 (wendyselig@verizon.net)
Website: www.melanomaresearchalliance.org

Organization: Minnesota Chorale
Purpose: Professional symphonic chorus
Executive director: Bob Peskin '78 (bob@mnchorale.org)
Website: www.mnchorale.org

Organization: National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association
Purpose: An organization of journalists, media professionals, educators, and students working to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues, oppose workplace bias, and provide professional development
Co-founder, New York chapter: Alan Flippen '84 (flippen@nytimes.com)  
Website: www.nlgja.org

Organization: NJ Arts News
Purpose: To advance creative civic discourse through short-form videos; to enrich news through humanities, arts, civics and sustainability; and to explore the relationships between civic culture, news and democracy.
Founder & Creative Director: Susan Haig ’76
Website: www.njartsnews.org

Organization: Our Space Our Place Inc.
Purpose: An after-school program that encourages self-confidence social involvement, and academic development among Boston-area youth who are blind by encouraging involvement in theater arts, sports, and community service
Founder and board president: Cheryl Cameron-Cumings '88  (president@ourspaceourplace.org)
Website: www.ourspaceourplace.org

Organization: Pocono Environmental Education Center (“PEEC”)
Purpose: To advance environmental education, sustainable living, and appreciation for nature through hands-on experience in a national park.
CEO: Jeff Rosalsky ’85
Website: www.peec.org

Organization: Princeton AlumniCorps
Purpose:  Mobilizing alumni in civic engagement.  Programs include Project 55 Fellowships, Emerging Leaders, ARC Innovators and The Alumni Network.  AlumniCorps encourages graduating seniors and alumni of all ages to create systemic change through public service.  Founded in 1989 as Project 55.
Board Chair:  John Fish '55
President:  Kathy Miller '77
Website:  www.alumnicorps.org

Organization: Save The Bay
Purpose: Save The Bay is the largest regional organization working to protect, restore, and celebrate San Francisco Bay. As its leading champion since 1961, Save The Bay protects the Bay from pollution and inappropriate shoreline development, making it cleaner and healthier for people and wildlife.
Executive director: David Lewis ’83 (dlewis@saveSFbay.org)
Website: www.savesfbay.org

Organization: Scholars at Risk Network
Purpose: Scholars at Risk is an international network of higher education institutions and individuals protecting academics, researchers, writers, artists, and other intellectuals who are persecuted for their work. Through career- and life-saving services for these courageous individuals, Scholars at Risk stands up for everyone’s right to think, create, and share ideas freely and safely.
Executive director: Robert Quinn ’88
Website: www.scholarsatrisk.org

Organization: Science Initiative Group
Purpose: Supports science and engineering capacity-building efforts in developing countries through a variety of programs and partnerships
Co-founder and chairman: Phillip Griffiths *62; Co-founder and executive director: Arlen Hastings '80 (hastings@ias.edu
Website: www.ias.edu/sig

Organization: The SEED Foundation
Purpose: To provide innovative educational opportunities that prepare underserved students for success in college and beyond. The SEED Foundation opens and supports urban, college-prep, public boarding schools.
Co-founder and managing director: Rajiv Vinnakota ’93 (Rajiv@seedfoundation.com)
Website: www.seedfoundation.com

Organization: Side by Side
Purpose: A faith-based, nonprofit organization that supports local public schools in Laurel, Md.
President: Joe Murchison '73 (mmurchison@verizon.net)
Website:  www.sidebysidelaurel.org

Organization: Starfish Africa
Purpose: Sponsors school fees for students in Kenya
Founder: Peter Kingston '02 (peterkingston@gmail.com)
Website: www.starfishafrica.org

Organization: Straight Talk Foundation
Purpose: Communication for social change, based in Kampala, Uganda
Founder: Catherine Watson '78 (cwatson@straighttalkuganda.org)

Organization: Ten Thousand Things Theater
Purpose: Bringing lively, intelligent theater to people with little access to the arts, performing in prisons, homeless shelters, low-income housing, and community centers
Founder and artistic director: Michelle Hensley '80 (mhensley@tenthousandthings.org )
Website:  www.tenthousandthings.org

Organization: The TLT Group
Purpose: The TLT Group is a not-for-profit that helps college and university educators take advantage of changing technology so they can improve teaching and learning.
President: Steven W. Gilbert ’65
Website: www.tltgroup.org

Post Comments
Tell us what you think about
Alumni nonprofit directory
Enter the word as it appears in the picture below
Send
By submitting a comment, you agree to PAW's comment posting policy.