Photos: Denise Applewhite

Princeton recognized five individuals with honorary degrees at Commencement.

Lynn A. Conway

Lynn A. Conway, a computer scientist, engineer, and transgender activist, helped revolutionize microchip design in the 1980s and received IBM’s lifetime achievement award in 2020.

Arcadio Díaz-Quiñones

Arcadio Díaz-Quiñones, an emeritus professor of Spanish and Portuguese who joined Princeton’s faculty in 1983, is an expert on Latin American culture and history and has written on the topic extensively.

Rhiannon Giddens

Rhiannon Giddens, a Grammy Award- and Pulitzer Prize-winning singer and multi-instrumentalist, has focused her work on uplifting those who were previously overlooked in American musical history.

Suzan Shown Harjo

Suzan Shown Harjo, a 2014 recipient of the U.S. Presidential Medal of Freedom, uses activism, poetry, journalism, and more to promote and protect Native American culture and land.

Katalin Karikó

Katalin Karikó co-created a modified version of messenger RNA that was used in several COVID-19 vaccines.

The Class of 2023 inducted five honorary classmates during its Class Day festivities: Kathleen Deignan, the dean of undergraduate students, who is retiring after four decades at the University; Claire Pinciaro ’13, the assistant dean for student life at Yeh College; Anne Anlin Cheng ’85, a professor of English; Joe Coraggio, a food service worker at Forbes College; and Rep. Terri Sewell ’86, the Class Day speaker.