The slide show below features images from the Grounds and Buildings series in the University Archives Historical Photo Collection. These are just a few of the more than 7,000 digital images available for online viewing.

The geodesic roof at Jadwin Gymnasium is one of the building’s signature features. In this construction photo from the late 1960s, Alan Richards showcases the infrastructure that makes the distinctive pattern possible.
The geodesic roof at Jadwin Gymnasium is one of the building’s signature features. In this construction photo from the late 1960s, Alan Richards showcases the infrastructure that makes the distinctive pattern possible.
The Architectural Laboratory, seen here in 1949, was built on the periphery of campus and now stands between two of Princeton’s largest buildings, Jadwin Gymnasium and the new Frick Chemistry Laboratory.
The Architectural Laboratory, seen here in 1949, was built on the periphery of campus and now stands between two of Princeton’s largest buildings, Jadwin Gymnasium and the new Frick Chemistry Laboratory.
The Grounds and Buildings photos show views of many campus spaces that no longer exist. For example, Wilson College students may recognize these tennis courts, adjacent to McCosh Infirmary, as the site of Dodge-Osborn Hall, 1937 Hall, 1938 Hall, 1939 Hall
The Grounds and Buildings photos show views of many campus spaces that no longer exist. For example, Wilson College students may recognize these tennis courts, adjacent to McCosh Infirmary, as the site of Dodge-Osborn Hall, 1937 Hall, 1938 Hall, 1939 Hall, and Gauss Hall – known as the “New Quad” when the dormitories opened in 1960.
Another view that no longer exists: Marquand Chapel, next to McCosh Hall, was destroyed by fire in 1920, eight years after this photo was taken.
Another view that no longer exists: Marquand Chapel, next to McCosh Hall, was destroyed by fire in 1920, eight years after this photo was taken.
Near Blair Hall, viewers watch the construction of 36 University Place, which would serve as the primary home of the University Store until 2007.
Near Blair Hall, viewers watch the construction of 36 University Place, which would serve as the primary home of the University Store until 2007.
The Chancellor Green rotunda, once the University’s main library, continues to be a popular study space, as it was in this undated photo.
The Chancellor Green rotunda, once the University’s main library, continues to be a popular study space, as it was in this undated photo.
Orren Jack Turner photographed the familiar chairs, stage, and balcony of McCosh 50. The image is undated but likely comes from the period from 1930 to 1950.
Elizabeth Menzies captured this view of ice skating on Lake Carnegie in 1951. A version of the photo ran in PAW’s Jan. 26, 1951, issue and identified the man in the sled as Gordon Sikes '16 *17.
Elizabeth Menzies captured this view of ice skating on Lake Carnegie in 1951. A version of the photo ran in PAW’s Jan. 26, 1951, issue and identified the man in the sled as Gordon Sikes '16 *17.