Frank Wojciechowski
Frank Wojciechowski

University employees will serve as VOLUNTEER FIREFIGHTERS with the Princeton Fire Department during a one-year pilot program approved March 24 by the Borough Council. The partnership is designed to help the department’s coverage during weekdays. About 30 public-safety and facilities employees who are trained already or who will receive training as firefighters will take part in the program.

Mark Buettner ’09 and Vanessa Rodriguez ’09 have been awarded fellowships from REACHOUT 56-81 , a public-service program created by the classes of 1956 and 1981 to help nonprofit groups. Buettner, a philosophy major, will work with the Bellevue/ NYU Program for Survivors of Torture in New York City. Rodriguez, a history major who is pursuing a certificate in Latin American studies, will join with Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid to assess and provide services to the homeless in San Antonio.

Sam Siegel ’09, pictured center, carries the Torah scroll as members of CHABAD AT PRINCETON UNIVERSITY celebrate the dedication of the group’s first Torah March 29 with a procession through campus to the Chabad House on Edwards Place. At left is Will Herlands ’12, and at right is Ethan Ludmir ’11, Chabad student board president.

University Dining Services has won a SILVER PLATE AWARD, recognizing industry excellence, from the International Foodservice Manufacturers Association. Dining Services serves about 14,000 meals per day and has a staff of 300 employees and 55 managers and chefs, as well as 240 student workers. It was cited for initiatives that include a visiting-chef series, partnering with students on organic foods and sustainability, and converting two dining halls into restaurant-style eateries.

STEVEN J. HEALY is stepping down June 30 after six years as the University’s public-safety director. Healy was president of the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Admini-strators in 2006–07, and appeared before congressional committees in the wake of the Virginia Tech shootings in April 2007.