Varsity Club Honors Athletes, Alumni

Blake Dietrick ’15 and Mike MacDonald ’15
Blake Dietrick ’15 and Mike MacDonald ’15
Beverly Schaefer

Women’s basketball star Blake Dietrick ’15 and men’s lacrosse standout Mike MacDonald ’15 won the top awards from the Princeton Varsity Club May 28. Dietrick, the point guard who led Princeton to an undefeated regular season and the program’s first NCAA Tournament win, earned the C. Otto von Kienbusch Award. MacDonald, an attacker who set a school record for points in his senior season, received the William Winston Roper Trophy.

Tiana Woolridge ’15 (women’s volleyball) and Andrew Mills ’15 (men’s soccer) shared the Art Lane ’34 Award for outstanding contributions to sport and society. Chris McCord ’15 (sprint football) won the Class of 1916 Trophy, given to the senior athlete with the highest academic standing.

The Varsity Club also honored two alumni: Dallas Cowboys head coach Jason Garrett ’89 received the Class of 1967 PVC Citizen-Athlete Award for “selfless and noble contributions to sport and society,” and outgoing associate dean Tara Christie Kinsey ’97 received the Marvin Bressler Award for her work in support of Princeton athletes.