Weisz ’17, left, and Johnson ’17
Beverly Schaefer

Ashleigh Johnson ’17 of the women’s water polo team and Spencer Weisz ’17 of the men’s basketball team earned the Von Kienbusch Award and Roper Trophy, respectively, as the TOP SENIOR ATHLETES June 1. Ashley Richards ’17 (women’s squash) received the Class of 1916 Cup, given to the senior letter winner with the highest academic standing. Five students shared the Art Lane Award for “outstanding contribution to sport and society”: Steven Cook ’17 (men’s basketball), Olivia Hompe ’17 (women’s lacrosse), Fiona McKenna ’17 (women’s hockey), Alex Michael ’17 (men’s heavyweight rowing), and Hailey Reeves ’17 (field hockey). Princeton teams won or shared 11 Ivy League championships in 2016–17, tying Harvard for the most by any school. 

Jeff Kampersal ’92, Princeton’s WOMEN’S HOCKEY coach since 1996, is leaving the program to become the coach at Penn State. Kampersal’s teams had winning records in 15 of his 21 seasons, earning Ivy League titles and NCAA Tournament bids in 2006 and 2016. Cara Morey, an assistant coach for the Tigers since 2011, was promoted to head coach.

WOMEN’S LACROSSE led 12–11 with 5:56 remaining against Penn State in the NCAA quarterfinals May 21, but the Nittany Lions scored three goals in a row to close out a 14–12 victory.

WOMEN’S TRACK AND FIELD star Julia Ratcliffe ’17 completed her collegiate career with a sixth-place finish in the hammer throw at the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore., June 8, earning All-America honors for the third time in the event. 

For the record

An earlier version of this story incorrectly stated the tally of Ivy League championships in 2016-17.