MEN’S and WOMEN’S TRACK AND FIELD standouts Donn Cabral ’12 and Ashley Higginson ’11 earned medals at the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore., June 9–12. Cabral placed second in the men’s steeplechase and sixth in the 5,000-meter run. Higginson finished third in the women’s steeplechase, shaving nearly five seconds off her own school record. Six of Princeton’s seven NCAA competitors reached the finals of their respective events, including Alex Banfich ’12 (eighth place, women’s 5,000-meter run) and Justin Frick ’10 (13th, men’s high jump).

WOMEN’S TENNIS fell 4–3 to Virginia in the opening round of the NCAA team championships May 14. The Tigers’ top doubles team of Hilary Bartlett ’12 and Taylor Marable ’11 competed in the NCAA doubles championships May 27–28, advancing to the round of 16 before falling in three sets to a duo from UCLA.

Five athletes headlined the Princeton Varsity Club’s 2010 SENIOR AWARDS. ­Alicia Aemisegger (women’s swimming) and Liz Costello (women’s cross country and track) were honored with the Von Kienbusch Award, given annually to Princeton’s top female athletes. Justin Frick (men’s track), Jack Leonard (men’s lightweight crew), and Zane Kalemba (men’s hockey) shared the Roper Trophy, presented to the top male athletes. Physics major Lawrence Cheuk (men’s heavyweight crew) won the Class of 1916 Cup as the varsity ­letter winner with the highest academic standing. Tina Bortz (field hockey), Aran Clair (men’s lightweight crew), Eric Plummer (men’s track), and Reilly Kiernan (women’s cross country and track) received the Art Lane Award for selfless contribution to sport and society.