Beverly Schaefer

Beverly Schaefer

WOMEN’S LACROSSE coach Chris Sailer, left, was elected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame May 24. In her 22 seasons as Princeton’s head coach, Sailer’s teams have won 282 games and lost 96. The three-time national coach of the year has led the Tigers to three national championships, 11 Final Four appearances, 17 NCAA postseason berths, and nine Ivy League titles. Sailer will become the first woman with Princeton ties to join the Hall of Fame when the 2008 honorees are enshrined in November. Her men’s counterpart, head coach Bill Tierney, was inducted in 2002.

Jolee VanLeuven ’09 of the WOMEN’S TRACK team earned All-America honors at the NCAA Championships June 14, completing the 10,000-meter run in a personal-best 34:09.51 to finish ninth. Teammate Ashley Higginson ’11 also competed at the NCAA meet in the 5,000-meter run. In MEN’S TRACK, high-jumper Justin Frick ’10 reached the NCAA finals and placed 11th, clearing 2.14 meters (7 feet, 1/4 inch).

In MEN’S CREW, the Princeton lightweight varsity eight rowed to a fourth-place finish at the IRA National Championship Regatta in Camden, N.J., June 7. The men’s heavyweight varsity eight missed the grand final but placed fourth in the petite final (10th overall). WOMEN’S CREW also reached the lightweight varsity eight grand final at the IRA Regatta, finishing fifth. The women’s lightweight varsity four captured a silver medal in its national championship race June 6. At the NCAA Championships in Sacramento, Calif., May 30–June 1, the Princeton open women placed 12th in the team standings.

Director of Athletics GARY WALTERS ’67 was one of 29 recipients of the Astro-Turf Athletics Director of the Year award, presented June 9 by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics. Princeton has won the unofficial Ivy League all-sports championship in each of Walters’ 14 years as athletics director, and Tiger teams have won 153 Ivy League championships in that time.

Four athletes shared top honors at the Princeton Varsity Club’s SENIOR AWARDS banquet May 29. Mike Moore (men’s hockey) and David Nightingale (men’s cross country and track) were recipients of the Roper Trophy, given annually to Princeton’s top male athletes. Meagan Cowher (women’s basketball) and Diana Matheson (women’s soccer) were honored with the Von Kienbusch Award as the top female athletes. Mechanical and aerospace engineering major Landis Stankievech ’08 (men’s hockey) won the Class of 1916 Cup as the varsity letter winner with the highest academic standing. Ted Gudmundsen (men’s lightweight crew), Michael Honigberg (men’s swimming), and Katie Lewis-Lamonica (women’s lacrosse) shared the Art Lane Award for selfless contribution to sport and society.