From left: Solveig Gold ’17 and Marisa Salazar ’17
Sameer A. Khan

Pyne Honor Prize and Jacobus Fellowship recipients were honored at Alumni Day.

The winners of the PYNE HONOR PRIZE, the top award for undergraduates, are: SOLVEIG GOLD ’17, classics. She has won several academic awards from the Department of Classics and hopes to become a classics professor and public intellectual. MARISA SALAZAR ’17, chemistry. She won two awards in the Department of Chemistry for academic achievement and plans to attend medical school with the aim of bringing medical care to underserved populations. (The accomplishments of Salazar and Gold will be featured in an upcoming issue of PAW.)

The PORTER OGDEN JACOBUS FELLOWSHIP, which funds a graduate student’s final year, was awarded to: ADAM LERNER, philosophy. He plans to continue his study of empathy and morality, especially how they relate to issues of public policy. ALEXANDER “SASHA” PHILIPPOV, astrophysical sciences. After graduation, he will be a NASA Einstein postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, Berkeley. HENRY SHAPIRO, history. He plans to become a professor focusing on expanding American students’ knowledge of the Islamic world. NEEREJA SUNDARESAN, electrical engineering. She plans to continue to contribute to research on quantum computing after graduation.