The University’s presidential-search committee got to work last month, with a goal of recommending to the trustees in the spring who should be President Tilghman’s successor. The ­17-member committee includes 11 alumni. 

What should Princeton look for in choosing its next president — and who is your ideal candidate?

Share your advice: Write to PAW, email, or post your thoughts in the comment box below.

Heading the group is KATHRYN A. HALL ’80, chairwoman of the trustees and the CEO and chief investment officer of Hall Capital Partners. Other trustees on the search committee are JOHN D. DIEKMAN ’65 of Atherton, Calif., managing partner at 5AM Ventures; LAURA L. FORESE ’83 of New York, N.Y., COO of New York Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center; JOSHUA GREHAN ’10 of New York, N.Y., development associate at KickStart; BRENT L. HENRY ’69 of Chestnut Hill, Mass., VP and general counsel at Partners HealthCare System; RANDALL L. KENNEDY ’77 of Dedham, Mass., a Harvard Law School professor; ROBERT S. MURLEY ’72 of Lake Forest, Ill., chairman of investment banking at Credit Suisse Securities; NANCY B. PERETSMAN ’76 of New York, N.Y., managing director at Allen & Co. LLC; and C. JAMES YEH ’87 of Hinsdale, Ill., senior managing director at Citadel Investment Group. 

Faculty members on the committee are MIGUEL A. CENTENO, chairman of the sociology department; LYMAN A. PAGE JR., chairman of the physics department; philosophy professor GIDEON A. ROSEN *92; and mechanical and aerospace engineering professor HOWARD A. STONE. CLAYTON K. MARSH ’85, deputy dean of the college, is the University staff ­representative.

The group includes two undergraduates, CATHERINE ETTMAN ’13 and JEFFREY MORELL ’13; and one graduate ­student, CHAD P. MAISEL, an M.P.A. candidate in the Woodrow Wilson School and president of the Graduate Student ­Government.