Alumni elected three new trustees for four-year terms beginning in July. Kamil Ali-Jackson ’81, from West Chester, Pennsylvania, is an entrepreneur and former legal
and business professional in the life sciences industry. Nandi O. Leslie *05, from Bethesda, Maryland, is a principal technical fellow at Raytheon Technologies. Mutemwa R. Masheke ’23, this year’s young alumni trustee, is from Lusaka, Zambia, and majored in computer science. Information on new trustees elected by the board was not made available before the deadline for this issue.

The following 13 professors transferred to emeritus status at the end of the academic year after serving on the Princeton faculty for more than 360 years combined: David N. Cannadine, history; Weinan E, mathematics and applied and computational mathematics; Henry S. Farber *77, economics; Susan T. Fiske, psychology and public affairs; Su Friedrich, visual arts; Stephen Kotkin, history and international affairs; Douglas S. Massey *78, sociology and public affairs; Alexander M. Polyakov, physics; Robert K. Prud’homme, chemical and biological engineering; Eileen A. Reeves, comparative literature; Daniel I. Rubenstein, ecology and evolutionary biology; Harold T.
Shapiro *64, economics and public affairs; and Susan A. Stewart, English.

The School of Public and International Affairs opened its first permanent space in Washington, D.C., to be used by SPIA in D.C., a new initiative for education, public affairs, and engagement, according to an announcement from the University. “Twenty-eight percent of SPIA’s graduate alumni and 17% of our undergraduate alumni are in the greater Washington area,” Dean Amaney Jamal said. “In terms of career placement, our alumni network is one of our most valuable resources to students. To have a dedicated space for students to meet with alumni to network is extremely important.”

Princeton professor and former dean of the School for Public and International Affairs Cecilia Rouse was selected as the next president of the Brookings Institution, a nonprofit, nonpartisan public-policy research organization based in Washington, D.C. Rouse, who served as chair of the Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) for the first two years of the Biden administration, will begin her new role in January 2024, according to a Brookings news release. A labor economist and faculty member since 1992, Rouse has significant experience in the economic policy realm. In addition to her time in the Biden administration, she served on the CEA during President Barack Obama’s first term and worked at the National Economic Council during President Bill Clinton’s administration.

Elliott Lieb, a professor emeritus of physics and mathematical physics, was selected as one of three recipients of the 2023 Kyoto Prize, which honors significant contributions to the betterment of humankind. Lieb, who taught at Princeton from 1975 to 2018, won for “pioneering mathematical research in physics, chemistry, and quantum information science based on many-body physics,” according to the Inamori Foundation, which presents the awards. His research has focused on the stability of matter and, more recently, systems governed by quantum mechanics. The award includes a 100-million-yen cash prize, equivalent to about $700,000.