The following faculty members have left Princeton to accept NEW POSITIONS at other universities: Sarah Kay, French and Italian, New York University; Daniel Oppenheimer, psychology and public affairs, UCLA; Andrei Okounkov, mathematics, Columbia; Delia Baldassarri, sociology, New York University; and Patrick Kehoe, eco­nomics, University of Minnesota.

As was announced previously, Christina H. Paxson, former dean of the Woodrow Wilson School, became the president of Brown University July 1.

THE UNIVERSITY WILL REIMBURSE $1 million to the federal Department of Energy for a program for housing allowances and other payments made to Prince­-ton Plasma Physics Lab employees while they were assigned to other U.S. laboratories. 

The PPPL employees, who were ­conducting research on fusion energy, were on temporary assignments permitted under DOE regulations. But the length of the assignments — 14 years in one case, and nine and 10 years in others — was found to be “excessive and inconsistent with department policies,” according to a report by the DOE inspector general issued in May. The employees received lodging subsidies and a payment of 12 percent of their salaries to offset costs incurred by living away from home.

“While the expenditures under this program were allowable and intended to serve important scientific purposes, in retrospect we recognize that they may have been greater than they needed to be to achieve the objectives of the program,” said University Vice President and Secretary Robert Durkee ’69.

James “Jay” Dominick
James “Jay” Dominick

JAMES “JAY” DOMINICK, vice chancellor for information technology and chief information officer at the University of North ­Carolina–Charlotte, will become Princeton’s vice president for information technology and CIO Aug. 13. He succeeds Betty Leydon, who retired June 30.