Ron Sachs/picture-alliance/dpa/AP Images
FRANK DEFORD ’61, who in 2012 won a National Humanities Medal for changing how we think about sports, has delivered his final NPR commentary — for a total of 1,656 during his 37 years on the job. You can read his farewell here:

Courtesy National Energy Technology Laboratory
ALE HAKALA ’03 was named in January by President Obama as a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers — the highest honor the government bestows on scientists in the early stages of their careers. Hakala is a Pittsburgh-based geochemist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Energy Technology Laboratory.

Courtesy University of Massachusetts Amherst
BARBARA KRAUTHAMER *00 was named dean of the Graduate School at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Krauthamer is an associate professor of history and is widely considered a leading historian of African American slavery and emancipation. She has been on the UMass Amherst faculty since 2008.